Picture
My kids have now been back to school for a few weeks.

   As you can see, it's been a while since I've wrote and things have been crazy and hectic so I barely find the time now. I have an 8th grader, a 4th grade, and a Kindergartner... I have 2 graduations to plan for next year. (OLDEST and youngest daughters)... I need to pick out a hall, catering company, Dj if I plan to have one, decorations, save for graduation fees, and so much more... we all know how time flies , right?! LOL... Along with that, Oldest daughter has came home with high school information and we've been told it's very important for the 8th graders to apply for high schools NOW before December so they can get on the waiting lists, get sports recommendation letters if they play any, and to figure out now which high schools they're going to. Oldest wants to go to the Chicago Bulls College prep academy which is a great school. I've looked into it. They're strict, they're tough and they expect nothing less than the best from their students and I think it will be a great challenge for her. I have also heard her talk about Juarez which is not the greatest from what I hear. I don't care what anyone says...and I'm hoping she changes her mind. We'll be going to the College Prep school in November to check that out . 

Recently, the 8th grade teachers asked the parents to come in for a
mandatory meeting for the 8th graders and information about graduation and such.
  It was  alot of really good information. They talked about the cell phone
policy in school and how kids are allowed to bring cell phones if the parents
feel they NEED to get ahold of the kids before or after school and the kids come
to school alone... but that phones NEED to be shut off during class because if
the phone rings during class.. they will be taken away. ...the school also said
they are NOT responsible for lost or stolen cell phones, because they have more
important things to deal with and worry about... they talked about fighting..
and how 8th graders involved in fights WILL NOT be able to participate in ANY
8th grade graduation activities... UNLESS it's a fight where the student has to
protect him or herself and there is NO adult around to protect them. I had to
laugh when the Principal was talking about this and said, "If it happens on
school grounds, or a few blocks from here and you can run and get me, do it..I'm
here to protect you.. if you don't have to fight...DON'T fight... I don't care
if there's 20 of them, and one of me...I'll protect you. That's what I'm here
for!".... but he did say if there was no adult around and they really can't get
out of the fight and have to protect themselves... that will be excused... and
the person who started the fight will be punished. They also talked about
graduation tickets and fundraising..and said everyone who attends the meeting
gets an extra ticket. That was awesome... :)  ... and he said that because of
this new healthy eating thing where CPS doesn't want sweets and sugary foods in
schools now, he's not sure if the 8th graders are going to do the Chocolate bar
sales which they did in the past to raise money for their 8th grade graduation
trip, but said he would let the parents know during the middle of the year.  
Now normally in the past... schools have went to SPRINGFIELD , IL. for their 8th
grade graduation trips to learn about Lincoln, see his home, and everything else
that comes along with it... that's where my 8th grade class and I went... so I
was amazed when the parents at this meeting were told by the teacher that this
year...they're going on a ONE HOUR buffet style cruise on Lake Michigan downtown
and then they'll have 2 hours to shop, eat again if they want, and just hang
around NAVY PIER and they can bring extra money to do so... A CRUISE???? NAVY
PIER???? and we got stuck going to SPRINGFIELD????? LMAO...what's wrong with
this picture!!!????!  LOL.....oh no... that's not the only thing...get this   : 

After their cruise... they then pick another weekend, day,
whatever.... and decide if they want to go to Springfield, IL. to learn about
Lincoln, see his home and such.... OR....if they want to go to Wisconsin for a
camping type thing I think it was, or a BBQ/Nature hike.... we NEVER did
anything like that!!!!  What the HAY MAN! LMAO.... but that's awesome...Tiffanie
def. has a lot to look forward to and I hope she's excited about all of this. I
know she's excited to be graduating... so, they do fundraisers for these
trips...and the graduation costs are $180... I laughed when I QUIETLY mouthed
the word "WOW" , and the teaceher laughed and said, "WOW IS RIGHT"... lmao... we
both started laughing... I didn't think she saw me.. Oops!!!
But - that $180
pays for cap and gown, the graduation Diploma cover, the autograph book with the
childs name on it, the graduation ribbon, the T - shirt with all the graduating
kids names on it... and some other things so you get your moneys worth .  I told
her dad about it and he was like, "We have to pay how much for what?"...
lmao.... he was trippin on it it... and was telling me he never had to pay that
much. I don't even remember how much my parents paid for my graduation fee...

So, the only thing I'm trying to do now is work and save money
for it.
Frankie is also doing well in school as far as I
know..I want to email his teacher today and see if he's doing his homework and
class work... I know he got in trouble one day for doing the right things... I
was pissed!!!
My little Lani is going through separation
anxiety bad right now. She's use to being home with me or her dad and sleeping
during the day, watching t.v. and such.. she didn't think school would be an ALL
DAY/ EVERY DAY thing..so now that it is... she cries and cries and cries in
school , and her teacher will let us know she had a bad day, or she cried all
day... well, Frankie saw her in the halls one day last week and got out of line
with his class to hug his sister and tell her it was going to be okay. I guess
they had a sub from another class or something and she got mad and told him it's
none of his concern and to get back in line. Frankie got upset and told the
teacher, "IT IS MY CONCERN. THAT'S MY BABY SISTER. I DON'T SEE YOU DOING
ANYTHING ABOUT IT!"....he was wrong for talking to the teacher the way he did,
but he was right for comforting his sister and should not have been told not to
worry about it or whatever... then to top it off, the same teacher when they got
back to class sat him by a group of his friends which are known class clowns...
Frankie is a class clown as well when he sits by them so I asked his regular
teacher at the beginning of the year not to sit him by any of these boys. She
agreed... so , Frankie tells the sub he can't sit by his friends..and she
thought he was being a smartass and puts him by himself in the corner... I was
furious... I've been told that's how that teacher is and that she's very
snotty... if that's the case, she doesn't need to be working with
kids..especially mine!!... and if it one more incident happens... I'M going to
have a meeting with her and the principal... I was going to go up to school for
those incidents but decided to let it slide...
as for Lani...
she's doing much better actually. Her teacher came up with a plan to give Lani
stickers for every day she does good without crying to go home. She stills asks,
"Is it time to go home yet?"... lmao... but if she gets enough stickers for no
crying..she gets a prize. And... I've come up with something as well because
every year... Harlem Irving plaza mall has "Santa parties" where they have
Santa, hot chocolate, train rides, reindeer and such on the roof of the mall...
I told Lani that Santa is watching her to see if she cries or not so if she
doesn't, he can invite her to his party... and that seems to be working! LOL...
and yes, I will take her this year. Hopefully, I'll have a car this time!



Besides that....


I suffered a nice little concussion last
Monday. Hit my head hard as hell on a metal fence and then the concrete. Was
taken to the hospital..knocked out cold... and all is fine... I have to deal
with some brain clinic for the next few months to make sure I heal properly, but
I'm going to be okay... I promise. LOL.... they gave me medication for dizziness
and head aches for the after affects of it all... but, I will make a full
recovery... 

I also applied for the Chicago Police a month ago, and my application was
approved/accepted whatever you want to call it... so , I'm just waiting for a
call or e-mail to go in for the written exam. I'm looking forward to it. It's
scary but at the same time, exciting and I can't wait...



and....




HOLD ON AND
PRAY - is what the people in my car should already know how to do (when I get my
next car) because this little mama can finally drive again!  WOOOO HOOOOOO!!
LOL... Yes, Springfield has finally UN-CANCELED my license and made it VALID...
well, technically speaking. Those who don't know... I take meds for migrains and
BS and need to be checked every 6 months / have my Dr. send the report to
Springfield and tell them it's okay for me to drive... I didn't do that a few
months ago so my license was canceled and it took forever for my Dr. to approve
me to drive again. When she finally did and sent the paper work in, Springfield
said it's been so long, that they wanted THEIR Dr's to look at the paper work
and approve it.  They did... I had no doubt in my mind that they wouldn't... so,
when I called and they told me that they DID remove the cancellation, and that I
could drive again and my license is Valid.. the woman had me laughing when she
said, "Well, kind of...it looks like it's expired so you need to renew it
first"... I already knew that, so it's only $30 or so to renew but I also have
to take the written test and the eye exam all over which is just more time I'm
wasting to get back behind the wheel... however, I'M GETTING BACK BEHIND THE
WHEEL!!!!!!
 

lmao - 
and I promise to stay off the sidewalks , too!!!  (Humor, humor).....

     I also had mentioned in the last post we got a 2nd dog..."Chico"... we got rid of "Chico" thankfully and I gave Frankie some money for letting me!  The thing peed every where except outside... I couldn't have that ... I'm happy with just our Minnie. I think Minnie is a lot happier Chico is gone as well. lmao... anytime someone paid attention to Chico, Minnie went nuts and attacked Chico. LOL. it was bad... I felt like I had 5 kids... the 2 dogs and my 3 monsters.. lmao.

Ending it here,
Peace and Love,
Shel.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    31 year old divorced mom of 3 kids, book writer, Fiance to Mr. A ,  blogger who loves to write and uses it as therapy... great sense of sarcastic humor, funny, loyal friend/family member with a big heart., and just trying to make each day as good as it can get.

    Archives

    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013