Conversation between my brother and I after not speaking for almost 2 months because of fighting we've been going through... 

    Him:  Hey, I just want to say stop this.. I'm tired of this and I'm sorry.
  
     Me:   Sorry for what. 

This was after my uncle passed away and my brother and I always have a way of talking if we're fighting, or coming together and be there for each other when someone passes away in our family... it shouldn't be like this. We should be talking all the time, not just when a family member passes and we realize how stupid our fights are or how stubborn we've both been... I knew what he was sorry for. He started all 3 arguments and big fights we've been in over the last 2 months, and I knew he wanted to stop the fighting... but I guess I just wanted to hear him say it in his own words what he's sorry for and what he wants to stop... he didn't thou. My brother hides his emotions well, doesn't really talk about them, and I just took the "Sorry", and forgave him as that.... we're okay now... I know we handle our "getting over things" and being sorry by joking around... we always do it...so, the next conversation that followed was this... 

   Me:     Hey, you know how credit companies offer you a settlement offer so you don't have to pay the full amount you owe?
   Him:    Yeah?
   Me:  Well how much do you think I owe you or you owe me? settlement offer first of how much I owe you?
   Him:   LOL $270,000
   Me:   Whoa now...that's a lot of 0's...I'm allergic... lmao...
   Him:   LOL... $1500?
   Me:   I think it's more than that. U sure?
   Him:   Let's leave it as that.
   Me:   Okay, because I don't want to have to f*** you up , smoookkkeeeyyyyyyy!     

     (Big Worm from FRIDAY - the movie if you've never seen it). lmao...
  Him:   No,  Run me money!      

     (Ronnie from the Players club movie - if you've never seen that)... LOL... 

   Me:   Okay, now I'll tell you how much you owe me, --- but we can settle it out of court for 50 cents and a jaw breaker.

  (Ezell from Friday also )... but that text didn't go through so we stopped texting.. lmao.. but that's how I know things with him and I are back to normal.. when we start joking around and quoting movies as always.. I love my brother dearly and he can always make me laugh!!! I'm happy we're talking again because the fights we had over the last 2 months (both Physical and verbal while he's been drunk and ballsy as the saying goes).... were terrible and I hated it... Yesterday, he texts me asking what I was doing.. I told him watching t..v  he told me to come by our cousins house where he was. I told him no way to get there, and he told me, "Amber will pick you up!"... Amber is my little cousin I call her - by marriage I guess you could say... and I told him no.. maybe som other time. His response was WTF.. LOL... I knew he was disappointed because he and I haven't hung out in a while.  I'm just glad as I said... we're okay now. My brother and I have had many adventures together and if we never talked again, all the memories we've had would kill me to think about... 
 
   Like the time he and I went to the liquor store, and I was already a little "tipsy"... we were on the way to a backyard party and he told me to grab a case of Corona.. I grabbed it off the bottom shelf in the cooler, but grabbed it with one hand and when I took it out, the case ripped, fell to the floor and all the bottles inside it shattered making a loud noise. The cashier dude looked at me, I told him, "Um...I think I broke the bottles"... my brother was looking at the mess on the floor embarassed at shaking his head - but laughing at the same time, and goes "YOU THINK you broke the bottles??? No, you DID break the bottles"... lmao... I asked the dude if he wanted me to clean it up, and he told me don't worry about it... he didn't even make me pay for it after my brother told him I was tipsy... LOL.. 

Then , there was another time we went to the same liquor store and my brother was paying for the alcohol. I grabbed the bags and the guy told me, "Sorry hun, you can't grab them, he has to!"... I told the him, "DUDE, I'M OLDER THAN HE IS!"... he looked at me and asked, "YOU ARE?"..."  I said yeah, and my brother started laughing and told me, "That's sad when we go places and people think I'm older than you cuz you're so short and little!"... lmao... he even had the guy laughing. 

And then there was the time he had Spinners on his car tires.. We stopped at a red light and his hubcaps were spinning, and some dude at a bus stop yelled out, "Oooohhh shit..that's sweet. They spinnin', they spinnin;... move up bro!"... we had two other friends with us and the windows open, so we started laughing at this dude amazed by the spinners. My brother moved up a bit, stopped and the dude was jumping up and down yellling, "Again, again...they spinnin'... they spinnin...again again!".. lmao... my brother kept doing this until the light was Green... good times I tell ya!

There was another time we were sitting at a red light and all we felt was a big ass crash right into the car. Some drunk idiot flew across the intersection and slammed into us. Everything went black for a minute and it took a few to figure out what happened after my head slammed into the back window... I made sure everyone was okay, and then jumped out of the car and into the guys car when I saw him pulling back .... I tried taking the keys out of the ignition to make sure he didn't go any where... he said he was just going across the street to park in the lot... I made sure to write down the plates number as well. After the accident and we got taken to the hospital with just some bruises and cuts... luckily... everyone in the car joked about how fast I got out of the car and how they thought I was going to kick the guys ass. My brother joked and was saying, "I looked back, you were there..I looked back again, you were gone.... now you see her, now you don't... next thing I know, you're jumping in his car fighting for the keys!"... lmao...


I can't forget the time we were headed to the lake... him, his ex Juliana, this dude Tony we knew and I... Juliana and I were in the back, and he had hit a pot hole hard as hell, and looked in the mirror to see one of his hub cap spinners rollin'down the street behind us. He pulled over swearing and mad as hell to go chase it and when he did, we were listening to "It's so hard", by BIGGIE Small.. and the part where he says, "Spun A U-e LOST a hub cap" came on. Juliana and I started cracking up. It was the perfect part of the song for the perfect moment... my brother gave us both the finger and told us, "F*** you both!"... and chased after his hub cap.. when he got out of the car, even Tony started laughing... Lmao... 


One sad moment we've had together that I'll never forget..is when he and I got into a huge fight in 2008, and didn't speak for 3 months. When we found out our grandmother had Cancer and was dying with only a few months to live, she ended up in the hospital, and we tried not to end up seeing each other there. He'd go, leave, and then I'd go leave and he'd come back.. or whatever. But one day, he came so I went to the chapel to pray, he ended up coming in there, saw me crying ...and sat next to me. We talked about how short life is, we said our sorries to each other, and we both hugged and cried/prayed together... so, like usual, we fight, don't talk...and then something tragic happens, and we're fine again like now.  (we just lost our uncle and again, realized life is too short not to talk)... 

Another funny memory I have of him, is when one of his boys ended up getting drunk as hell , passing out... and everyone that was hanging out with us that day.. his friends and a few of mine... were writing all over this poor dude with marker... they tried handing it to me, and I told them, "Na, that's bogus as hell what you guys are doing..I don't want to do it"... they tried telling me, "Yes, you do!"... I kept saying no, and finally I told them, "I don't wan to..stop!".. so one of the guys there took a marker, wrote, "Cookie was here"... on the guys hand... but the marker wasn't working right, so I joked and told him, "If you're going to make it look like I did it, make it noticable!"... I took a darker marker and traced over it.. lmao... I felt bad tho when the guy woke up, and told me, "I expected everyone else to be bogus and do this kind of shit, but not you,Cookie!".... :(    LOL.... had my brother cracking up. 

We then a wonderful moment where I get a call at 3 AM and he's drunk off his butt telling me I need to come down the block and identify him so the Police let him go. I asked what he was talking about, and he told me just to get down there..please. So, I go down the block and the Police have him in the back of the car, another cop has his friend in their car and let him out.. when they let my brother out.. they asked if I knew him. I told the Police, "Yeah, that's my little brother!"... I asked what he did and they told me him and his genuius friends were trying to steal a bike and cut the lock off it by Mcdonalds. I shook my head and this drunk fool gets un-cuffed and tells the cops tipsy as hell.."Officers , I want to be a Police officer one day".... the cops looked at him like he was nuts and told him, "GO HOME WITH YOUR SISTER!".... they asked if I wanted to take his boy with me. I told them NO WAY... I found out that the kid who was suppose to be the "Look out", ran a block when he saw the cops and THEN screamed "5-0"... smh...

Another thing that made me laugh but pissed me off at the same time ... is when my brother caught his DUI case a few years back. He had a really nice Poniac G6 so whenever he was going to the club to DJ, I'd take the G6, drop him off and pick him up because I knew he would be getting drunk.  My brother would always call me for the stupidest shit at 2, 3, 4 in the morning when he was drunk....even the days I didn't take him to the club and he went with someone else... he called me at 2 AM one day to tell me there was a Giraffe outside of Safari Land on North Ave. (we call him Giraffe because he has a long neck and he's so tall...)... so when I found out he got a DUI one time, I flipped!!! I told him, "you can call me at 2,3,4 AM for the stupidest shit, but not to come pick your dumb ass up from the club!"... he told me he thought I was sleeping. I yelled and told him, "I was sleeping many other times I woke up to come get you!"... I was so mad... but we look back now that it's over, and laugh... i always tell people, "This idiot called me many times and then to tell me there's a Giraffe outside of Safari land, but not when he really needed a ride home!".... smh.... at least he was honest with the cop who stopped him.. which is another thing that made me giggle a bit... when I heard the story of how he got caught... he wasn't even driving. He was pulled over to the side of the road and a cop pulled up to make sure he was okay, and he told the cop, "Officer, I shouldn't even be behind the wheel!"... lol... Americas stupidest Criminals! 

Another memory that makes me laugh is when I had said something about him looking guilty... he joked around and told me, "I look su-su-supicish - su - it's making me think a lot, okay?! "...   lmao... (NEXT FRIDAY if you haven't seen the movie... Joker says it tword the end)... as I said,  we're always quoting movies with each other. He had me cracking up. 

Or the time we were planning my oldest daughters birthday party, and I had asked him if he would pick up some of her friends she invited, and told him some of them would be boys. He's very protective of my kids, but especially my oldest because she's a teenager now, that's his niece and his God-daughter..... so, he gave me the funniest look, and asked..."You want ME to pick up BOYS for my teenager niece and think they're going to make HERE okay?"... lmao... 



    So, he and I have had many many many funny memories together... some sad but we've always pulled through again... he's the one who can always make me laugh when I don't want to... :) and... knowing we're okay again, gives me a sense of peace.


Any way....





   Not sure when the next time I'll be able to write again is so I'm going to do a few updates for now on a few things going on .....

   First and foremost....I have 2 job interviews today that I'm really pretty excited about. I thought they were close and found out they're about 9 blocks from where I live now, but hey - if I have to walk there and back daily to save and pay my city tickets, and get a car - so be it. It shouldn't take long for those... I'm actually hoping I get BOTH jobs and can work around BOTH schedules because the more work, the more money.... everyone is telling me walking there and back daily.. my feet will thank me later.
I wear heel boots to work, so my feet won't thank me at all but my wallet sure the hell will... and hell, when I get a car and no longer have to walk any where... THEN my feet will thank me. LOL... until then, not yet.
I applied at many places and got called for four so far...  H.H. Gregg and Anna's Linens are the ones I'll be going to today for the interviews.  As I said - right now, I don't care where I work as long as it gets me money... and I plan on going back to school as soon as this money, gets me a car...so I can finally graduate, finish, and move on with my Criminal Justice career.
Any way, I've also been called by SUBWAY... yes, the fast foot sandwhich joint.. lmao...I applied to them for fun one day just for the hell of it, but would never want to work there... I turned them down when they called yesterday. I guess I thought about it for a moment, but I would never want the responsibility of cooking or making someone else's food if it's not family, my kids, or Mr. A.
And then this morning...Foot Locker e-mailed me. I've been dying to get the FOOT LOCKER job. I think I'd be a doll in the Black and white referee uniform! LMAO... it said how they're interested in my qualities, skills, and resume..and not to contact the manager or apply again because as soon as the hiring process begins, they will be updating me and informing me of everything I need to do every step of the way... and they said on the e-mail they were looking forward to speaking to me soon! :) Yay.... I've been trying for a while to get in there and I hear the pay is pretty good as well. So, we'll see.... hell, I'm just hoping to get one of these jobs today!  LOL... I needed something closer to where I live now, and although this is 9 blocks..there's a bus if need be, that stops a few feet from here, and goes straight there.

As for everything else... My Tiffie - oldest daughter - is doing well in school, and staying out of trouble. She minds her own business and is still doing well... she has her moments, but for the most part... I think I scared the crap out of her when she decided she was going to "run away" from her grandmas house last week.. .and I picked her up and took her to Juvenile Hall... yes, the Detention Center. I got out of the car, and she refused to get out with me, so I told her she can either volunteer to walk up to the doors, or the female officers could come out and get her... either way, she was going in.  Before that, she had been talking back to her aunt and grandma, her dad - getting mouthy, giving problems when they were with her, and just not respectful to them at all.  Oh to me.... she never made a sound. When I have her, when I get tough on her... she doesn't make a peep.. she knows better than to "mouth off" to me... I'm majoring in Juvenile Justice . These little punks now a days don't scare me..I've been one of these little punks before... Lmao... so when Tiffanie gets rowdy, I've told her I was going to take her to Juvy in the past..and she didn't believe me anymore, and a few weeks ago, I took her. She got scared needless to say ... and when I saw the tears in her eyes and I knew I had broken her down, I took her back home and really let her have a piece of my mind. I told her the next time I take her there, it's for real and she will be going inside... there's no more disrespecting her dad, her aunt, or her grandma.. there's no more putting her hands on her brother or sister when they're fighting, there's no more arguing with anyone, no more mouthy attitude, none of that.  And - from that day on...she's been awesome. She does her home work.  She's respectful.  She's polite... she hasn't pushed her brother or sister, she hasn't fought with them.... she's been a peach! LMAO... so I guess that worked??!!! LOL... and November 23rd, we'll be going to the Chicago Bulls College Prep high school for the application and information process to try to get her enrolled. I'm really looking forward to this. :) 1st quarter of 8th grade progress reports already and she's on a C - average..A's, B's and C's..which is fine with me because I don't expect all A's, but I sure the hell don't allow Ds and Fs... and she hasn't had any for the longest. !

My Frankie... this little white boy thug - LMAO... seriously... drives me nuts but I love the booger.  He's such a boy... He did NOT get a good progress report and I am NOT proud of him. When I yelled at him about it..about not turning in his homework like he should, forgetting homework supplies or books he needed in school, and not being allowed to make up any work and blaming his teacher for it, I REALLY yelled at him. I screamed at the top of my lungs about how un-acceptable this is , and he knows I don't mess around when it comes to grades and school work... I had a big fit.  I told him I am NOT proud of him... and he told me, "Neither am I"... he sounded disappointed in himself, and serious... so I softened up a little and told him, "Frankie, I need you to settle down in the school sense, start fresh after this, start paying attention, start listening to every little thing, every lesson she's teaching the class, write down notes, information, homework in your planner, and if you know you have homework, ask yourself if you have every supply, every book to do that homework and put it in your book bag right away!".... he said OKAY.. and I made sure he heard me and repeated it back to me. I told him I wasn't joking and the next time his progress report looks like an ugly bad snow storm during the winter season.... I was taking HIM to Juvenile next. He already knows I took his sister and scared the LORD into her! lmao.... seriously thou, Frankie is scared of Officer Donna... a good friend of mine who kicked my ass when she arrested me back in the days as a bad ass teenager myself... and set me straight. She didn't play no games or take no bullshit from my ass.. every time my mother needed her and called her, Officer Donna set me right! ... so, now that she and I still talk...I call her to set Frankie right when he needs it, and she does. She hasn't met him yet, but eventually...she will. So, now that he seems to think that he'll never see Officer Donna... I've told him about Officer Delgado (echem... totally um...?? how can I say this?? Not visable?) if you know what i mean..lmao... and said that this cop is a Juvenile Officer and that if the next progress report is not good either... or has any D's and F's on it... he'll be spending the next quarter in Juvenile ... he told me that's not fair.. and asked if I would send him there just because he's not doing well in school. I told him, "Frankie, kids get sent their for LESS!"... he told me, "OH MY GOD..FINE!"... and said he would do better.. so, here's hoping!  I also asked him what it would take for him to do better and what he wanted.. he crushed my heart when he said, "More time with you!"....
A lot of the time... Frankie likes to go fishinig or playing baseball... and he'll ask his dad to do that with him.. I know how to fish and enjoy it but I'm not touching any creepy  crawlers to do so... or any fish that may be caught...LOL.. and when Frankie asks his dad to do these things with him, I've always thought I was the one who tucks him in at night, helps with homework, takes him to the park, surprises him with Mcdonalds here and there, or...gives him extra money when I have it and he was happy with that...turns out I was wrong and it killed me to hear him say that because even thou I do spend time with Frankie .... I didn't know he wanted more of it. I thought what I was doing was the normal "mommy" stuff... I asked him one time if he wanted to do stuff with me and he told me what he likes to do is BOY STUFF... so I never really thought too much about it. But... there are many things we can do together... when I start saving money... we can go on weekend get-aways together, I can take him to skateboard parks, and biking events, I can take him downtown to do things together..there's tons of things I'm sure I can find.. so I made an agreement with him that we can do many things together as a reward and I can take him places... if he brings his grades up and starts doing well in school.
Now.. let me make things clear. I'll spend time with him either way... but in order to do the FUN things... going out of town, events I'll have to buy tickets to... and things like that... yes, his grades need to come up!  So, today..I e-mailed his teacher and asked her to keep me updated on any change and told her the agreement he and I have..

As for KaiLani... she's still doing great in Kindergarten.. learning numbers, colors, how to read and write, and all. :) Today, she'll get to pick her very first prize from the class room treasure chest for writing her name on her own twice last night. I'm anxious to see what her toy selection/prize pick is... I'll be at my interviews in a little bit, so ... if I don't get to write later...

Have a wonderful weekend/week next week... and I'll be back as soon as I can to let you know how everything went...

Peace and Love.
Shel.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    31 year old divorced mom of 3 kids, book writer, Fiance to Mr. A ,  blogger who loves to write and uses it as therapy... great sense of sarcastic humor, funny, loyal friend/family member with a big heart., and just trying to make each day as good as it can get.

    Archives

    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013